A little story



We Remember...



Proud and wise as an old maple who overlook our foothills, Doctor Jacques PAPILLON has known how to mark us with his immense soul and his at times sarcastic humor!!!

He has been the one taking care of the wineyard for over 26 years..

2013 is dedicated to him, this big man, by his highness and soul will serve us as a guide for long.

The scultpure exhibition which he is one of the cofounders will continue to live in this place for years to come

A souvenir of him will be revealed during the exhibition opening on July 13th.

The owners and personel of Domaine des Côtes d'Ardoise will try to walk in his footsteps.

A giant has passed......


Steve, Julie, Marc, Ginette, JP and the vineyard team


History of an Illegal Vineyard

The Vineyard’s Pioneers

In 1980, Christian Barthomeuf travelled to Ontario with Mr. Jacques Breault (who still grows vines in Dunham) to search for cuttings and plants his first vine stock of De Chaunac, Seyval Blanc and Marechal Foch at the vineyard. This makes Domaine Des Cotes d’Ardoise, the oldest commercial still exploited vineyard in Quebec.

1981 : First plantations of Marechal Foch, Seyval Blanc and Pinot Noir.

1982 : First plantations of Seyval and Chardonnay.

1983 : 13,000 plants are added, Gamay and Pinot Noir among them. The vineyard is sold to Mr. Jean-Louis Roy and Mr. Gilles Ducharme, and Mr. Barthomeuf stays as its manager.

1984 : The vineyard is sold to Mr. Jacques Papillon.

2010 : The vineyard is sold to Steve Ringuet, Julie Tasse, Marc Colpron and Ginette Martin.

The first red and white wines were made in 1982. In spring 1983, the Domain started selling its first bottles in total illegality, since no artisanal wine production permit existed then and less even a selling permit.

Selling Wine without a Permit

The vineyard that sold its wine without a permit definitely needed some sort of legal status, but the authorities did not know how to deal with the problem that menaced to become more serious as other nutcases were starting to grow vines in Dunham. The same laws that applied to the big commercial winemakers that imported their wine and their must from all over the world could not be applied to a small vineyard that produced its own grapes.

A new policy had to be created. Political pressure, rightly said, and the intervention of Mrs. Claire Lambin Plante, then director of La Barrique magazine, convinced the executives of the SAQ to come to the vineyard in August 1984 in order to at least taste the products from the vineyard.

Wine Tasting at the Vineyard

On a beautiful Sunday afternoon, the president of the SAQ, Mr. Lord and the laboratory director, Mr. Tremblay came by. The visit was short since our visitors feared being surprised by the media inside an illegal organization.

Dégustation au vignoble After the wine tasting, Mr. Tremblay announced surprised, « but it is drinkable, it is even sellable ». The first step was made toward a permit allowing artisanal production. The permits were issued in spring 1985 and 3 years later, Domaine des Cotes d’Ardoise was earning the first medal granted to a Quebecois vineyard: the Seyval Carte d’Or 86 won the Gold Medal at Sélections Mondiales 1987 in Montreal in the Traditional White Wine Category over the classic Pierre Masson and a French wine called La Pucelle.

 

 

Médaille du vin blanc Seyval 1986Since then, the Vineyard Domaine des Cotes d’Ardoise has not stopped improving in quantity and quality. The Estate currently grows 25,000 grapevines in a 7.5 hectare area.

Red Viniferas : Gamay
White Viniferas : Riesling
Red Hybrids : Foch, De Chaunac, Chélois, Lucy Kullman.
White Hybrids : Seyval, Aurore.

In 2009, the production will vary between 15,000 and 25,000 wine bottles per year.

History of the Artisanal Production Permit

Few people know the miserable conditions in which Quebec’s first vineyards had to work in during the 80s and the first half of the 90s. These conditions followed from the lack of consideration from the Quebec government toward the wine growing industries that attempted to establish in.

Let us remember that in spite of the fact that the first vineyards were established in the early 80s, it was only until 1985 that the first artisanal production permits were issued, after many difficult steps that had to be taken with the Government of Quebec and the SAQ.

Their regulations were not made to facilitate the task for those who wished to create a small wine growing industry in Quebec. On the contrary, these conditions were so restrictive that they seemed to be implanted purposefully to discourage instead of to help the first brave entrepreneurs. During this same period, Ontario and the federal government prepared to invest millions of dollars in Ontarian vineyards.

The first artisanal production permits issued in 1985 to 5 vineyards, were accompanied with the following conditions :

  • Special tax of 30% payable to the SAQ. As a control measure, the SAQ went to the vineyards and placed big orange stamps on the bottles.
  • Obviously, other taxes were equally applied (sale tax, excise duty, specific duty, etc.) for a total of more than 40%.
  • Selling was limited exclusively at the vineyard.
  • Wine samples sales were forbidden at the vineyard without a liquor license.
  • Wine consumption outside surrounding the boutique for picnic purposes was forbidden without a restaurant license and a liquor license.
  • Wine tasting in agricultural or food fairs and trade shows was forbidden.
  • Grape purchase from another vine growing farmer who did not wish to produce wine was forbidden.
  • Obviously, no rights to deliver products, even if the client paid for the transportation costs.
  • Selling to restaurants was forbidden.
  • The use of terms employed somewhere else than in Europe or Canada to describe the vineyard or the wines, such as Domaine, Clos, primeur, etc. was forbidden under the pretext of international treaties signed with France.
  • Practical impossibility of selling at the SAQ without going through the import department (even if personally, the Seyval Carte d’Or 86 of the Domain, earned a gold medal in Sélections Mondiales in 1987, which would have granted it automatically the right to be sold at the SAQ.)

As it can be noticed, it would have been hard to do more things to try to kill the initiative of the wine growing industry in Quebec.

The conditions are admittedly different today, but they endured too many years, in fact until the mid 90s, delaying the development of the wine industry in the province.

The conditions changed thanks to two factors:

  • The sustained action of the representatives of the Quebec Winegrowers Association. We need to pay homage to all those who fought for years to obtain the smallest of changes that seem so evident nowadays. We have a hard time imagining that it was otherwise in the past.
  • The open-mindedness of the government since 1996 that enabled important changes to the legislative, fiscal and administrative plans.

A- In the Legislative Plan :

In June 1996 the National Assembly adopted Law 44 enabling farmers to sale their products in hotels, bars, restaurants and other establishments that had consumption permit on the premises.

B- In the Fiscal Plan :

  • Reduction in the budget address of 1997 of the specific duty from 89 cents to 45 cents per liter.
  • Abolition, in the budget address of 1998, of the specific duty of 45 cents per liter in the first 1,500 hectoliters.
  • Adoption by the SAQ of a policy regarding farmers who bought grain alcohol to elaborate their products, avoiding double taxation problems and subsequent reimbursements.

C- In the Administrative Plan :

By the Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux (RACJ) in its numerous regulations.

  • In the summer of 1997, permission was granted to the farmers, on a trial basis, to introduce, give samples and sell their products in agricultural fairs.
  • Reduction of the minimal standard to one hectare in order to obtain an artisanal production permit.
  • Abolition of the interdiction to use denominations and terms commonly used everywhere in the world, like, « CLOS », « CÔTES », Primeur, Domaine etc.
  • Right granted to the wine maker, as an agricultural producer, to sell his wines in public markets considered to be as extensions of his/her production facilities. (Regulation 010598-1127.) By the same regulation, the artisanal production permit included the right to transport said products.
  • The artisanal wine maker is no longer required to produce 100% of the fruit that goes into his/her wine. While still having to produce at least 50% of the inputs, from then on, he could buy 35% of the grapes, fresh or processed by other agricultural producers of Quebec and 15% from any source including the SAQ (Regulation 100798-1129.)

The Wine Growing Industry and Its Economic Benefits

Everywhere in the world the wine growing industry is a source of employment and economic and tourist development. There is no doubt on this matter when we see what has been happening in Europe and more recently in California and the Niagara Valley.

For about 15 years the federal and Ontario government have massively invested in the wine growing industry and have harvested significant results.

Now that the Quebecois wine growers have done their homework and have shown the seriousness in their commitment for nearly 25 years by investing tens of thousands of dollars, wouldn’t it be time for our two forms of government to take part in supporting the wine growing industry here?

Red Wine in Quebec

Here is a picture of a bottle of Clos de Saragnat, the first red wine produced by Domaine des Cotes d’Ardoise, Quebec’s first artisanal winery still in operation.

Vin rouge du vignoble

It was the product from the 1982 vintage of the Vineyard Domaine des Cotes d’Ardoise, made of De Chaunac, a French hybrid variety.

It was at that time that the experts said it was impossible to produce red or white wine in Quebec. Afterwards, toward the end of the 80s, it was gradually admitted that maybe white wine could be made in Quebec, but certainly not red.

Work and Expertise

Even among the first wineries, many were convinced of the impossibility of making red wine in the province. Mentality changed slowly. People noticed that with hard work, the expertise of wine making and persistence, good results could be obtained, to the point that today; it is rare to find wineries that do not produce red wine. Indeed, it is less easy than making white wine of which some imperfections can be hidden easier by serving it cold.

A Good Red Wine

At the Vineyard Domaine des Cotes d’Ardoise we always believed in the possibility of making a good red wine, therefore; since the beginning, our production has been always half-half, white wine and red wine. To do that, we grow Gamay (the grape variety of Beaujolais,) Foch, Chélois, De Chaunac, Lucy Kuhlman and a small quantity of a new hybrid variety, the Frontenac.

The future in this domain looks promising. There are numerous people who are attempting to develop a good red grape variety that is resistant to cold and has an early ripeness. The Cool Climate Oenology and Viticulture Institute (CCOVI) at Brock University in Ontario along with their research team on cold climate viticulture and the Americans in Minnesota are in the vanguard. Their efforts will surely be rewarded in the near future.

 

Latest news

"...three red wines and a riesling from Quebec are in the spotlight..."

La Presse November 2012

Events

Sculptures Exhibition

Nature et Création has become the most important outdoor sculptures exhibition in Québec...

Contact

OPEN ALL YEAR LONG!

879, rue Bruce, route 202
Dunham (QC) J0E 1M0

Tel.: 450 295.2020
Fax: 450 295.2309
info@cotesdardoise.com

Map

Histoire du vignoble



Histoire d'un vignoble illégal

Les pionniers du vignoble

En 1980, Christian Barthomeuf se rend en Ontario avec monsieur Jacques Breault (qui cultive encore la vigne à Dunham) pour chercher des boutures et plante ses premiers ceps de De Chaunac, Seyval blanc et Maréchal Foch au Domaine. Ce qui fait du Domaine Des Côtes d’Ardoise, le plus ancien vignoble commercial encore en exploitation au Québec.

1981 : Plantation de Maréchal Foch, de Seyval blanc et de Pinot noir.

1982 : Plantation de Seyval et de Chardonnay.

1983 : Ajout de 13,000 plants, dont du Gamay et du Pinot noir. Le vignoble est vendu à messieurs Jean-Louis Roy et Gilles Ducharme, et monsieur Barthomeuf en reste le gérant.

1984 : Le vignoble est vendu à monsieur Jacques Papillon.

2010 : Le vignoble est vendu à Steve Ringuet, Julie Tassé, Marc Colpron et Ginette Martin.

2012 : Achat du verger voisin: Retour aux sources et production du cidre de glace: La Pomelière

2013 : Ajout de 15,000 plants, dont du Riesling, Gewurztraminer, Chardonnay, Acadie Blanc et Frontenac gris.

La première vinification en blanc et en rouge fut effectuée en 1982. Au printemps 1983, le Domaine commençait à vendre ses premières bouteilles et ceci dans la plus parfaite illégalité, car il n’existait aucun permis de production de vin artisanal et encore moins de permis de vente.

Vendre son vin sans permis

Il fallait bien un statut quelconque pour ce vignoble qui vendait son vin sans permis, mais les autorités ne savaient vraiment pas comment traiter le problème qui menaçait par ailleurs de devenir plus sérieux car d’autres hurluberlus commençaient aussi à planter de la vigne à Dunham. On ne pouvait assujettir aux mêmes lois  un tout petit vignoble qui produit son raisin et les gros fabricants de vins commerciaux qui importent leurs vins et leurs moûts de partout dans le monde.

Il fallait créer quelque chose de nouveau. Pressions politiques, il faut bien le dire, et intervention de madame Claire Lambin Plante, alors directrice de la revue La Barrique, convainquirent les dirigeants de la SAQ de venir au vignoble en août 1984, pour au moins goûter les produits du Domaine.

Dégustation au vignoble

Par un beau dimanche après-midi s’amenèrent donc le président de la SAQ, M. Lord et le directeur des laboratoires M. Tremblay. La visite fut courte car nos visiteurs craignaient d’être surpris par les gens des médias dans une organisation clandestine.

Dégustation au vignoble Après dégustation, M. Tremblay déclara surpris, « mais c’est buvable, c’est même vendable ». Le premier pas vers un permis artisanal était franchi. Les permis furent émis au printemps 1985, et 3 ans plus tard le Domaine des Côtes d’Ardoise gagnait la première médaille accordée à un vignoble québécois : le Seyval Carte d’Or 86 remporte la médaille d’or aux Sélections Mondiales 1987 à Montréal dans la catégorie vin blanc populaire, devant le Pierre Masson classique et un vin français du nom de La Pucelle.

 

 

Médaille du vin blanc Seyval 1986Depuis ce temps, le vignoble Domaine des Côtes d’Ardoise n’a cessé de grandir en quantité et en qualité. Le domaine d'une superficie de 180 hectares cultive aujourd’hui 46,000 plants de vignes sur une surface de plus 11 hectares.

Viniferas rouge : Gamay
Viniferas blanc : Riesling, Chardonnay, Gewurztraminer
Hybrides rouge : Foch, De Chaunac, Chélois, Lucy Kullman.
Hybrides blanc : Seyval, Aurore, Acadie Blanc, Frontenac blanc, Vidal

En 2011, la production varie entre 35,000 et 40,000 bouteilles de vin par année.

Histoire du permis artisanal

Peu de gens connaissent les conditions misérables dans lesquelles les premiers vignobles du Québec ont dû travailler pendant les années 80, et la première moitié des années 90, conditions découlant du manque de considération accordée par le gouvernement du Québec à la viticulture qui tentait de s'implanter.

Rappelons d'abord qu'en dépit du fait que les premiers vignobles se soient établis au début des années 80, ce n'est qu'en 1985 que les premiers permis de production artisanale ont été émis, après de pénibles démarches auprès du Gouvernement du Québec et de la SAQ.

Ces conditions n'étaient en rien faites pour faciliter la tâche de ceux qui espéraient créer une petite industrie viticole au Québec. Bien au contraire, ces conditions étaient tellement restrictives qu'elles semblaient être imposées davantage pour décourager que pour aider ces premiers téméraires. Pendant la même période l'Ontario et le gouvernement fédéral se préparaient à investir des millions de dollars dans les vignobles de l'Ontario.

Les premiers permis de production artisanale de vins émis en 1985 à 5 vignobles, étaient accompagnés des conditions suivantes :

  • Taxe spéciale à payer à la SAQ de 30%. Pour contrôler, la SAQ se rendait dans les vignobles mettre de gros timbres orange sur les bouteilles.
  • Bien certainement, les autres taxes s'appliquaient également ( taxes de vente, d'accise, droit spécifique, etc. ) pour un total de plus de 40%.
  • La vente était limitée exclusivement au vignoble.
  • Interdiction de vendre des dégustations au vignoble à moins de posséder un permis d'alcool.
  • Évidemment défense de laisser les gens consommer du vin dehors autour de la boutique avec leur pique-nique sans avoir un permis de restaurant avec permis d'alcool.
  • Défense de faire déguster dans les foires ou manifestations agricoles ou alimentaires.
  • Défense d'acheter du raisin d'un autre agriculteur cultivant de la vigne mais ne désirant pas vinifier lui-même.
  • Évidemment aucun droit de faire la livraison des produits, même si le client payait lui-même le coût du transport.
  • Bien sur, interdiction de vendre aux restaurants.
  • Interdiction d'employer, pour décrire les vignobles ou les vins, de termes employés ailleurs en Europe ou même ailleurs au Canada, tels que Domaine, Clos, primeur, etc, sous prétexte d'accords internationaux signés avec la France.
  • Impossibilité pratique de vendre à la SAQ ( même si personnellement, le Seyval Carte d'Or 86 du Domaine, s'était mérité une médaille d'or aux Sélections Mondiales de 1987, ce qui normalement lui aurait donné automatiquement le droit d'être vendu à la SAQ ) sans passer par le département de l'importation.

Comme on peut le constater, il eut été difficile de faire mieux et davantage pour essayer de tuer dans l'œuf toute initiative concernant la viticulture au Québec.

Les conditions sont certes différentes aujourd'hui, mais elles ont perduré pendant de trop nombreuses années, en fait jusqu'au milieu des années 90, retardant considérablement ainsi le développement de la viticulture au Québec.

Les conditions ont changé grâce à deux facteurs :

  • L'action soutenue des représentants de l'Association des Vignerons du Québec. Il faut rendre hommage à tous ceux qui se sont battus pendant des années pour obtenir le moindre petit changement qui semble si facilement aller de soi maintenant, que l'on a peine à imaginer qu'il en fut autrement un jour.
  • L'ouverture d'esprit du gouvernement à compter de 1996, qui a permis des changements importants au plan législatif, fiscal et administratif.

A- Au plan législatif :

Adoption par l'Assemblée Nationale en juin 1996 de la loi 44 permettant aux artisans la vente de leurs produits dans les hôtels, bars, restaurants et autres établissements détenant un permis pour consommation sur place.

B- Au plan fiscal :

  • Réduction dans le discours du budget de 1997, du droit spécifique de .89 cents à .45 cents le litre.
  • Abolition, dans le discours du budget suivant de 1998, du droit spécifique de .45 cents le litre sur les premiers 1500 hectolitres.
  • Adoption par la SAQ d'une politique à l'égard des artisans achetant de l'alcool de grain pour l'élaboration de leurs produits, évitant les problèmes de double taxation et de remboursement subséquent.

C- Au plan administratif :

Par les directives de la RACJ (Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux) dans ses nombreuses directives.

  • À l'été de 1997, permission est donnée aux artisans, à titre expérimental, de présenter, de faire déguster et de vendre leurs produits dans les foires agricoles.
  • L'abaissement à un hectare de la norme minimale pour obtenir un permis de producteur artisan.
  • Élimination de l'interdiction d'employer des dénominations, des termes, communément employés partout dans le monde comme , « CLOS », « CÔTES », Primeur, Domaine etc.
  • Droit conféré au vigneron artisan, à titre de producteur agricole, de vendre ses vins dans les marchés publics considérés comme des extensions de leurs lieux de production. (Directive 010598-1127). Par la même directive, le permis de producteur artisan comporte également le droit de transporter les dits produits.
  • Le producteur artisan de vin n'est plus tenu de produire 100% des fruits entrant dans ses boissons. Tout en continuant de devoir produire au moins 50% des intrants, il peut dorénavant acheter 35% de raisins, à l'état frais ou transformé d'autres producteurs agricoles du Québec et 15% de toute source, incluant la SAQ. (Directive 100798-1129).

Apport économique de la viticulture

Dans tous les pays du monde, la viticulture est source d'emplois, de développement économique et touristique. Il n'y a plus aucun doute à ce sujet quand on voit ce qui se passe depuis fort longtemps en Europe et plus récemment en Californie et dans la vallée du Niagara.

Depuis une quinzaine d'années le gouvernement fédéral et celui de l'Ontario ont investi massivement en viticulture et en ont récolté des retombées très importantes.

Maintenant que les viticulteurs québécois, ont depuis près de 25 ans, fait leur devoir et montrer le sérieux de leur démarche, en investissant des dizaines de millions de dollars, ne serait-il pas le temps que nos deux niveaux de gouvernement fassent leur part en soutenant la viticulture de chez nous ?

Le vin rouge au Québec

Voici la photo d’une bouteille du Clos de Saragnat, premier vin rouge produit par Le Domaine des Côtes d’Ardoise, premier vignoble artisan encore en opération au Québec.

Vin rouge du vignoble

Fruit de la vendange 1982 du vignoble Domaine des Côtes d’Ardoise, il était fait de De Chaunac, un hybride français.

C’était à l’époque où les experts disaient qu’il était impossible de faire du vin au Québec, qu’il soit blanc ou rouge. Par la suite, graduellement, à la fin des années 80, on commença à admettre que, peut-être, on pouvait être capable de faire du vin blanc au Québec, mais certainement pas du vin rouge.

Travail et expertise

Même parmi les premiers vignobles, plusieurs en étaient convaincus. Lentement la mentalité changea. On s’aperçut qu’avec du travail, de l’expertise de vinification et de la persistance on pouvait obtenir de bons résultats, de telle sorte qu’aujourd’hui, rares sont les vignobles qui ne produisent pas de vin rouge. Certes c’est moins facile que de faire du vin blanc dont on peut cacher plus facilement certains défauts en le servant froid.

Un bon vin rouge

Au vignoble Domaine des Côtes d’Ardoise on a toujours cru en la possibilité de faire un bon vin rouge et c’est pour cela que notre production, depuis le tout début, est moitié-moitié, vin blanc et vin rouge. Et pour ce faire, nous cultivons du Gamay (le cépage du Beaujolais), du Foch, du Chélois, du De Chaunac, du Lucy Kullman et une petite quantité d’un nouveau cépage hybride, le Frontenac.

L’avenir dans ce domaine est prometteur. Nombreux sont ceux qui cherchent à développer un bon cépage rouge résistant au froid et à maturité hâtive. Les Ontariens (The Cool Climate Oenology and Viticulture Institute (CCOVI) at Brock University) avec leur département de recherche sur la viticulture en climat froid et les Américains du Minnesota sont à l’avant-garde. Il est certain que leurs efforts seront couronnés de succès dans un avenir prochain.

 

 

Actualité

«...assistance record au vernissage de Nature et Création sous le présidence de M Claude Dubois"...»

Juillet 2014

Événements

Exposition de Sculptures

Nature et Création est devenue la plus importante exposition extérieure de sculptures au Québec...

Coordonnées

OUVERT À L’ANNÉE !

879, rue Bruce, route 202
Dunham (Québec) J0E 1M0

Tél. : 450 295.2020
Télec. : 450 295.2309
info@cotesdardoise.com

Directions routières